Colorado Tax Lien Certificates

Colorado tax lien certificates are sold at county tax sales on or before the second Monday in December of each year.

Pursuant to CRS 39-11-115 New Window the bidding begins at just the back taxes owed. The winning bidder at an Colorado tax sale is the bidder who pay's the taxes, delinquent interest, and costs due or who further pay's the largest amount, in cash, in excess of the delinquent taxes, delinquent interest, and costs.

Pursuant to CRS 39-12-103 (3) New Window and CRS 39-11-120 New Window the delinquent owner has (3) three years to redeem his or her interest in the property. To redeem the delinquent owner must tender the amount the investor paid to purchase the Colorado tax lien certificate plus tax, interest, advertising, and fees, plus redemption interest.

Pursuant to CRS 39-12-103 (3) New Window the interest rate the delinquent owner will be charged at the time of redemption is the rate recorded at the time the Colorado tax lien certificate was purchased. The annual redemption interest rate for each year's tax sale auction is established by adding 9% to the September 1st Federal Reserve discount rate

Pursuant to CRS 39-11-120 New Window if the delinquent owner fails to redeem the Colorado tax lien certificate after (3) three years but no more than (15) fifteen years from the date when the Colorado tax lien was purchased from the county, the investor may apply for and receive a court ordered Treasurer's tax deed to the property.

Tax Sale Type: Tax Lien Certificates (Sec. 39-11-117 New Window)

Contact: County Tax Collector (Sec. 39-11-101 New Window)

Interest Rate: +9% per annum (Sec. 39-12-103 (3) New Window)

Penalty Rate: Not Applicable Not Applicable

Bid Procedure: Premium Bid (Sec. 39-11-115 New Window)

Redemption Period: Three (3) years (Sec. 39-11-120 New Window)

Law: Title 39, Article 11 (Sales of Tax Liens) and Article 12 (Redemption) New Window

Additional Notes:

Important: According to (Sec. 39-11-115 New Window) the overbid does not draw interest. Furthermore, the overbid will not be returned upon redemption and "shall be credited to the county general fund".

Join the Colorado Tax Sale Discussion

Below you will find a collection of the latest user questions and comments relating to Tax Lien Certificates Colorado.

Counties / Municipalities located in Colorado

The following is a list of counties located in the state of Colorado. Tax Lien Certificates for properties located in the following counties are sold at Colorado county tax sales.

Learn more about each county's individual tax sale process by clicking on the name of the county for which you are interested from the list below:

County/Municipality:  Population: 
Adams County, CO  363,857
Alamosa County, CO  14,966
Arapahoe County, CO  487,967
Archuleta County, CO  9,898
Baca County, CO  4,517
Bent County, CO  5,998
Boulder County, CO  291,288
Broomfield County, CO  38,282
Chaffee County, CO  16,242
Cheyenne County, CO  2,231
Clear Creek County, CO  9,322
Conejos County, CO  8,400
Costilla County, CO  3,663
Crowley County, CO  5,518
Custer County, CO  3,503
Delta County, CO  27,834
Denver County, CO  554,636
Dolores County, CO  1,844
Douglas County, CO  175,766
Eagle County, CO  41,659
El Paso County, CO  516,929
Elbert County, CO  19,872
Fremont County, CO  46,145
Garfield County, CO  43,791
Gilpin County, CO  4,757
Grand County, CO  12,442
Gunnison County, CO  13,956
Hinsdale County, CO  790
Huerfano County, CO  7,862
Jackson County, CO  1,577
Jefferson County, CO  527,056
Kiowa County, CO  1,622
Kit Carson County, CO  8,011
La Plata County, CO  43,941
Lake County, CO  7,812
Larimer County, CO  251,494
Las Animas County, CO  15,207
Lincoln County, CO  6,087
Logan County, CO  20,504
Mesa County, CO  116,255
Mineral County, CO  831
Moffat County, CO  13,184
Montezuma County, CO  23,830
Montrose County, CO  33,432
Morgan County, CO  27,171
Otero County, CO  20,311
Ouray County, CO  3,742
Park County, CO  14,523
Phillips County, CO  4,480
Pitkin County, CO  14,872
Prowers County, CO  14,483
Pueblo County, CO  141,472
Rio Blanco County, CO  5,986
Rio Grande County, CO  12,413
Routt County, CO  19,690
Saguache County, CO  5,917
San Juan County, CO  558
San Miguel County, CO  6,594
Sedgwick County, CO  2,747
Summit County, CO  23,548
Teller County, CO  20,555
Washington County, CO  4,926
Weld County, CO  180,936
Yuma County, CO  9,841