Tax lien certificates are not sold in Delaware. Tax delinquent properties are sold to the highest bidder at county tax sales.
In Counties throughout Delaware tax-delinquent properties are sold at county tax sale's (referred as monition sales). Tax-delinquent properties are advertised in a local newspaper two (2) weeks preceding the county tax sale date. The county tax sale is held at either 9:30 A.M. or 10:00 A.M. on either the second (2nd) or the third (3rd) Tuesday of each month.
Prior to each tax sale, a complete list of the properties to be auctioned at the county tax sale can be purchased at the Sheriff's office. In order to participate in the tax sale bidders are required to place a deposit between $2,000.00 and $4,000.00 by cashiers check payable to the County Sheriff.
In addition, bidders will need to present a driver's license or a valid photo identification. Both forms of identification are required in order to receive a bidder's number. Bidders MUST have this number in order to place a bid. The deposit will be held until the completion of the county tax sale. The bidder's deposit will be refunded if they are not a successful bidder.
The successful bidder's deposit will be applied to the 20% deposit required for the purchase of the property. The remaining amount of the 20% deposit must be paid before 3:00 P.M. on the day of sale or the bidder will forfeit their deposit and the property will be resold.
The delinquent owner has the right to redeem their property any time within 60 days from the day the sale is approved by the Court. To redeem or recover their property the delinquent owner must pay their delinquent taxes plus 15% of the highest bid.
If the delinquent property owner fails to redeem their property or the property is not overturned, the bidder should proceed to their Attorney's office to have a deed prepared. The signed deed and checks will be returned to the bidders Attorney for recording.
Tax Sale Type: Tax Deeds (Hybrid)
Interest Rate: None
Below you will find a collection of the latest user questions and comments relating to Tax Deeds (Hybrid) Delaware.
The following is a list of counties located in the state of Delaware. Tax Deeds (Hybrid) for properties located in the following counties are sold at Delaware county tax sales.
Learn more about each county's individual tax sale process by clicking on the name of the county for which you are interested from the list below:
|Kent County, DE||126,697|
|New Castle County, DE||500,265|
|Sussex County, DE||156,638|
Reference for all fifty (50) states detailing tax sale type (lien, deed, hybrid), interest rate, penalty rate, redemption period, and more.
Simply enter your name and e-mail address to get free instant access to this powerful "Tax Sale Cheat Sheet".