Montana Tax Lien Certificates

In Montana, county treasurer's and tax collector's sell tax lien certificates to the winning bidder at the delinquent property tax sale.

Tax Sale Type: Tax Lien Certificates (Sec. 15-17-212 New Window

Contact: County Tax Collector (Sec. 15-17-211 New Window)

Interest Rate: 10% per annum (Sec. 15-16-102 New Window)

Penalty Rate: 2% (Sec. 15-18-112 New Window)

Bid Procedure: Premium Bid (Sec. 15-17-214 New Window)

Redemption Period: Two (2) or three (3) years (Sec. 15-18-111 New Window)

Law: Montana Code Annotated, Title 15, Chapter 17, "Tax Sales," and Chapter 18, "Ownership Interests in Land Sold for Taxes." New Window

Additional Notes:

Proof of Notice According to (Sec. 15-18-212 New Window) 'not more than 60 days prior to and not more than 60 days following the expiration of the redemption period...' the purchaser or assignee 'shall notify all persons considered interested parties in the property, if any, that a tax deed will be issued to the purchaser or assignee unless the property tax lien is redeemed prior to the expiration date of the redemption period...'.

If the purchaser or assignee fails to notify all persons considered interested parties in the property as defined in Sec. 15-18-212 New Window 'the county treasurer shall cancel the property tax lien evidenced by the tax lien sale certificate...'.

Montana Tax Sale Discussion

Below you will find a collection of the latest user questions and comments relating to Tax Lien Certificates Montana.

Counties / Municipalities located in Montana

The following is a list of counties located in the state of Montana. Tax Lien Certificates for properties located in the following counties are sold at Montana county tax sales.

Learn more about each county's individual tax sale process by clicking on the name of the county for which you are interested from the list below:

County/Municipality:  Population: 
Beaverhead County, MT  9,202
Big Horn County, MT  12,671
Blaine County, MT  7,009
Broadwater County, MT  4,385
Butte-silver Bow County, MT  34,606
Carbon County, MT  9,552
Carter County, MT  1,360
Cascade County, MT  80,357
Chouteau County, MT  5,970
Custer County, MT  11,696
Daniels County, MT  2,017
Dawson County, MT  9,059
Deer Lodge County, MT  9,417
Fallon County, MT  2,837
Fergus County, MT  11,893
Flathead County, MT  74,471
Gallatin County, MT  67,831
Garfield County, MT  1,279
Glacier County, MT  13,247
Golden Valley County, MT  1,042
Granite County, MT  2,830
Hill County, MT  16,673
Jefferson County, MT  10,049
Judith Basin County, MT  2,329
Lake County, MT  26,507
Lewis And Clark County, MT  55,716
Liberty County, MT  2,158
Lincoln County, MT  18,837
Madison County, MT  6,851
Mccone County, MT  1,977
Meagher County, MT  1,932
Mineral County, MT  3,884
Missoula County, MT  95,802
Musselshell County, MT  4,497
Park County, MT  15,694
Petroleum County, MT  493
Phillips County, MT  4,601
Pondera County, MT  6,424
Powder River County, MT  1,858
Powell County, MT  7,180
Prairie County, MT  1,199
Ravalli County, MT  36,070
Richland County, MT  9,667
Roosevelt County, MT  10,620
Rosebud County, MT  9,383
Sanders County, MT  10,227
Sheridan County, MT  4,105
Stillwater County, MT  8,195
Sweet Grass County, MT  3,609
Teton County, MT  6,445
Toole County, MT  5,267
Treasure County, MT  861
Valley County, MT  7,675
Wheatland County, MT  2,259
Wibaux County, MT  1,068
Yellowstone County, MT  129,352

Tax Sale

Cheat Sheet

Reference for all fifty (50) states detailing tax sale type (lien, deed, hybrid), interest rate, penalty rate, redemption period, and more.

Simply enter your name and e-mail address to get free instant access to this powerful "Tax Sale Cheat Sheet".