Oklahoma Tax Lien Certificates

Oklahoma county treasurer's and tax collector's sell tax lien certificates to the winning bidder at the delinquent property tax sale. In addition, Oklahoma sells tax deeds.

Tax Sale Type: Tax Lien Certificates (68-3111 New Window) and Tax Deeds (68-3135 New Window)

Contact: County Tax Collector Sec. 68-3108 (A) New Window)

Interest Rate: 8% per annum (Sec. 68-3113 New Window)

Penalty Rate: None

Bid Procedure: Random selection or 'impartial drawing' (Sec. 68-3108 (A) New Window)

Redemption Period: Two (2) years (Sec. 68-3117 (b) New Window)

Law: Title 68, Article 31, "Delinquent Taxes and Collection." New Window

Additional Notes:

Multiple Tax Sales: As far as Oklahoma is concerned, at 8% per annum it doesn't provide the biggest rate of return. However, it does keep the competition down.

The Oklahoma tax sale process can be a bit confusing but I'll do my best to make sense of it. First you should know that Oklahoma has three tax sales;

  • Tax Sale
  • Resales and
  • County Commissioners Sales
  • The "Tax Sale" is held each year on the first Monday in October (Sec. 68-3107 New Window). The winning bidder receives a tax lien certificate which draws interest at 8% per annum subject to a 2 year redemption period.

    Any tax lien not sold at the "Tax Sale" is assigned to the county and can be purchased over the counter anytime prior to the expiration of the 2 year redemption period (Sec. 68-3108 New Window).

    The "Resale" or second buying opportunity includes properties which remain unredeemed for a period of two years from the date of the sale..." (Sec. 68-3125 New Window) and occurs the second Monday of June each year. The winning bidder will receive a treasurers or tax deed. Any propery not sold at the "Resale" will be struck off to the county.

    The "County Commissioners Sale" or third buying opportunity includes properties not sold at either the "tax sale" or the "resale". At the county commissioner sale "Properties are sold by the treasurer at a price approved by the county commissioners" (Sec. 68-3135 New Window).

    Oklahoma Tax Sale Discussion

    Below you will find a collection of the latest user questions and comments relating to Tax Lien Certificates Oklahoma.

    Counties / Municipalities located in Oklahoma

    The following is a list of counties located in the state of Oklahoma. Tax Lien Certificates for properties located in the following counties are sold at Oklahoma county tax sales.

    Learn more about each county's individual tax sale process by clicking on the name of the county for which you are interested from the list below:

    County/Municipality:  Population: 
    Adair County, OK  21,038
    Alfalfa County, OK  6,105
    Atoka County, OK  13,879
    Beaver County, OK  5,857
    Beckham County, OK  19,799
    Blaine County, OK  11,976
    Bryan County, OK  36,534
    Caddo County, OK  30,150
    Canadian County, OK  87,697
    Carter County, OK  45,621
    Cherokee County, OK  42,521
    Choctaw County, OK  15,342
    Cimarron County, OK  3,148
    Cleveland County, OK  208,016
    Coal County, OK  6,031
    Comanche County, OK  114,996
    Cotton County, OK  6,614
    Craig County, OK  14,950
    Creek County, OK  67,367
    Custer County, OK  26,142
    Delaware County, OK  37,077
    Dewey County, OK  4,743
    Ellis County, OK  4,075
    Garfield County, OK  57,813
    Garvin County, OK  27,210
    Grady County, OK  45,516
    Grant County, OK  5,144
    Greer County, OK  6,061
    Harmon County, OK  3,283
    Harper County, OK  3,562
    Haskell County, OK  11,792
    Hughes County, OK  14,154
    Jackson County, OK  28,439
    Jefferson County, OK  6,818
    Johnston County, OK  10,513
    Kay County, OK  48,080
    Kingfisher County, OK  13,926
    Kiowa County, OK  10,227
    Latimer County, OK  10,692
    Leflore County, OK  48,109
    Lincoln County, OK  32,080
    Logan County, OK  33,924
    Love County, OK  8,831
    Major County, OK  7,545
    Marshall County, OK  13,184
    Mayes County, OK  38,369
    Mcclain County, OK  27,740
    Mccurtain County, OK  34,402
    Mcintosh County, OK  19,456
    Murray County, OK  12,623
    Muskogee County, OK  69,451
    Noble County, OK  11,411
    Nowata County, OK  10,569
    Okfuskee County, OK  11,814
    Oklahoma County, OK  660,448
    Okmulgee County, OK  39,685
    Osage County, OK  44,437
    Ottawa County, OK  33,194
    Pawnee County, OK  16,612
    Payne County, OK  68,190
    Pittsburg County, OK  43,953
    Pontotoc County, OK  35,143
    Pottawatomie County, OK  65,521
    Pushmataha County, OK  11,667
    Roger Mills County, OK  3,436
    Rogers County, OK  70,641
    Seminole County, OK  24,894
    Sequoyah County, OK  38,972
    Stephens County, OK  43,182
    Texas County, OK  20,107
    Tillman County, OK  9,287
    Tulsa County, OK  563,299
    Wagoner County, OK  57,491
    Washington County, OK  48,996
    Washita County, OK  11,508
    Woods County, OK  9,089
    Woodward County, OK  18,486

    Tax Sale

    Cheat Sheet

    Reference for all fifty (50) states detailing tax sale type (lien, deed, hybrid), interest rate, penalty rate, redemption period, and more.

    Simply enter your name and e-mail address to get free instant access to this powerful "Tax Sale Cheat Sheet".