South Dakota Tax Lien Certificates

In South Dakota, tax collector's sell South Dakota tax lien certificates to the winning bidders at the delinquent property tax sales. The winning bidder is the one willing to pay the most for the tax lien certificate.

Depending on where the property is located, the homeowner has approximately three (3) or four (4) years from the date the South Dakota tax lien was purchased to redeem. Depending on when the homeowner redeems he or she will be charged a 10% penalty. Upon the expiration of the redemption period the investor may apply for the tax deed.

Tax Sale Type: Tax Lien Certificates (Sec. 10-23-18 New Window)

Contact: County Tax Collector (Sec. 10-22-21 New Window)

Interest Rate: 10% per annum (Sec. 10-23-8 New Window)

Penalty Rate: None

Bid Procedure: Bid Down (Sec. 10-23-8 New Window)

Redemption Period: Depending on where the property is located, three (3) or four (4) years (see "Additional Notes") (Sec. 10-25-1 New Window)

Law: South Dakota Codified Laws, Title 10, Chapter 22 - "Collection Of Delinquent Property Taxes ", Title 10, Chapter 23 - "Sale of Real Property for Taxes and Assessments", Title 10, Chapter 24 - "Redemption from Tax Sales" and Title 10, Chapter 25 - "Tax Deeds" New Window

Additional Notes:

Important According to (Sec. 10-23-28.1 New Window) 'No Sale of tax certificates after July 1, 2006. Notwithstanding the provisions of chapters 10-23, 10-24, and 10-25, no county may sell any tax certificate after July 1, 2006, unless the board of county commissioners adopts a resolution waiving the provisions of this section that prohibit the sale of tax certificates. The county shall be the holder of any tax certificate issued by the county after July 1, 2006, unless the board of county commissioners adopts a resolution waiving the provisions of this section that prohibit the sale of tax certificates. The county treasurer shall continue to serve notice on the owner of record of the real property, publish notice, and attend to the other administrative provisions imposed by chapter 10-23, 10-24, and 10-25. Nothing in this section affects the holder of any existing tax certificate, the method in which the tax certificate is redeemed, or the sale of real property for taxes or assessments'.

Some counties, have adopted a resolution waving the provisions of (Sec. 10-23-28.1 New Window). Such is the case in Pennington County where third-party investors can still purchase tax lien certificates. Therefore, contact each county to find out which is offered.

Join the South Dakota Tax Sale Discussion

Below you will find a collection of the latest user questions and comments relating to Tax Lien Certificates South Dakota.

Counties / Municipalities located in South Dakota

The following is a list of counties located in the state of South Dakota. Tax Lien Certificates for properties located in the following counties are sold at South Dakota county tax sales.

Learn more about each county's individual tax sale process by clicking on the name of the county for which you are interested from the list below:

County/Municipality:  Population: 
Aurora County, SD  3,058
Beadle County, SD  17,023
Bennett County, SD  3,574
Bon Homme County, SD  7,260
Brookings County, SD  28,220
Brown County, SD  35,460
Brule County, SD  5,364
Buffalo County, SD  2,032
Butte County, SD  9,094
Campbell County, SD  1,782
Charles Mix County, SD  9,350
Clark County, SD  4,143
Clay County, SD  13,537
Codington County, SD  25,897
Corson County, SD  4,181
Custer County, SD  7,275
Davison County, SD  18,741
Day County, SD  6,267
Deuel County, SD  4,498
Dewey County, SD  5,972
Douglas County, SD  3,458
Edmunds County, SD  4,367
Fall River County, SD  7,453
Faulk County, SD  2,640
Grant County, SD  7,847
Gregory County, SD  4,792
Haakon County, SD  2,196
Hamlin County, SD  5,540
Hand County, SD  3,741
Hanson County, SD  3,139
Harding County, SD  1,353
Hughes County, SD  16,481
Hutchinson County, SD  8,075
Hyde County, SD  1,671
Jackson County, SD  2,930
Jerauld County, SD  2,295
Jones County, SD  1,193
Kingsbury County, SD  5,815
Lake County, SD  11,276
Lawrence County, SD  21,802
Lincoln County, SD  24,131
Lyman County, SD  3,895
Marshall County, SD  4,576
Mccook County, SD  5,832
Mcpherson County, SD  2,904
Meade County, SD  24,253
Mellette County, SD  2,083
Miner County, SD  2,884
Minnehaha County, SD  148,281
Moody County, SD  6,595
Pennington County, SD  88,565
Perkins County, SD  3,363
Potter County, SD  2,693
Roberts County, SD  10,016
Sanborn County, SD  2,675
Shannon County, SD  12,466
Spink County, SD  7,454
Stanley County, SD  2,772
Sully County, SD  1,556
Todd County, SD  9,050
Tripp County, SD  6,430
Turner County, SD  8,849
Union County, SD  12,584
Walworth County, SD  5,974
Yankton County, SD  21,652
Ziebach County, SD  2,519